As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

With the development of technologies that can replace human beings in many tasks, there is a opinion worrying about the deteriorating of human's thinking abilities. From my point of view, we do not need to worry about the issue because in a new technology era, we human beings are not losing our abilities to think, but are developing different abilities that are necessary to accustom to the changing working and living environment.

First, I have to concede that people nowadays are less developed in some skills compared to their ancestors thanks to the technologies that can help us to solve many different problems. For example, a history scholar do not have to memorize all the documentary in his field because all of the materials are readily accessible in the database stored in his computer. We can also notice that school students are not as good at basic calculating skills as of ten years ago because they can rely on the help of calculators to do the onerous calculating tasks. Above are undeniable evidence that prove us at least some of humans' precious thinking abilities are deteriorating because of lack of practise.

However, I would like to argue that the thinking abilities mentioned above, together with other abilities that can be replaced by machines, are only the most fundamental features of human brain, and the most essentail thinking abilities, such as structural understanding, logical thinking, creative designing and understanding others' feelings, remain untouched by the technology. These abilities are even better trained with the help of technology because technoligy can save us from distractions of fundamental tasks. Expanding on the example of the history scholar who rely on database to store any search for documents, he can better focus on analysis of the materials and make full use of his creativity to discover new relationship between different factors. In this way, technologies are actually helping us to develop our thinking abilities in the most important ways.

Last, it is also worth mentioning that as the creator and user of technology, it is human that make things happen, not the machine. When the location of a star emerges on the computer screen after calculation, it seems like that it is technology that has find the star, but actually it is the scientists and egineers who build the telescope and the working station, as well as design and adjust the computer program, that should get the credit for this discovery.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the opinion in the argument that technology harms people's thinking abilities. Instead, technology shifts the focus of people's ability and makes it possible for us to concentrate on the most important aspests.