As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The development of technology has took off with unprecedented pace in the 21 century. Especially the development of smartphones is something that most of us can cherish and it is hard to argue that humans are now heavily relying on technology. Nowadays we are heavily relying on smartphones to solve menial tasks which may hinder our problem solving skills but, complicated tasks such as math, science or artistic abilities have not lessened with the development of technology.

It is hard to argue against the fact that smartphones have become an essential part of our daily lives. It helps us to schedule our plans, it helps us to save contact information and it also helps us when we get lost in a complicated city. These numerous functions that help us in our daily lives are actually hindering our abilities to think for ourselves. For instance, in the past when we did not have access to navigation through our phones we would have to think North, East, West and South and find the right way, or we would have to try to figure out where we could get sufficient information. On the contrary with our phones we would just simply open up google maps and find our way to the destination which requires much less cognition. Also, in the past people would try to memorize phone numbers of intimate people because phones could not save any contact information. That kind of training may have helped with people's memory. Therefore, for problems that we encounter in our everyday lives, we have deteriorated the ability to solve them.

Nevertheless, humans have not lost the ability to think in subjects that are abstract and complicated. Subjects requiring critical thinking such as math or science, or other disciplines requiring imagination like arts and music have not gone downhill. Researchers nowadays are thriving to push the limits of human knowledge and it is hard to say that they are less qualified than the researchers of the past. Rather technology such as, particle accelerators or electron microscopes, are helping them to find new knowledge. Same for arts and music, people are still testing their limits of imagination to create new pictures, sculptures and symphonies and are getting the help of technology.

In conclusion, even if we have lost some cognitive skills in our everyday tasks, we still possess the power to think critically or creatively in sophisticated tasks and technology even has helped to do so.