The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore presumes that they must reduce the operating expense in order to reverse their recent decline in the profits. The memorandum notes that as the company is famous for their special bargains, increase in the price will not improve their profits. The reasoning could be apt and probable but in order to determine whether the recommendation by the owner works, few questions nedd to be answered.

To begin with, will closing early not affect the sales of the videos? The owner, based on the evidence, assumes that customers tend to purchases videos less after 6:00 PM. However, the assumption is reached by only experimenting for a month with the new timings. It might be possible that the month was full of public holidays, like December, and people were free during the day time, which did not affect the sales in that month. Many people have 9 to 5 job and hence, might prefer to rent a video after 6 pm. Hence, if this is likely then the sales of the store gets lesser in current timings.

Additionally, do customers take full advantage of the special bargains? It may be possible that increasing the sales price in such conditions might not be helpful as the customer can always bargain for a lower price. However, the this statement is not backed up by any report or statistics. It could be possible that not all customers of the store are solid bargainers. So increasing the price will increase the profit of the company if the ratio who bargains fervidly is low. If this is true, then the company does not need to decrease their operating expense and instead should increase the price of the rentals.

Thus, if the questions can not be answered with proper evidence, then the recommendation might not increase the profit of the store. More concrete evidence which can answer these questions can help in deciding the right step for the rental stores.