The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, he stated that there has been a recent decline in video rental profits and that a plausible solution to this problem would be to implement the same solution used in one of his stores in order to increase profits without jeopardizing the reputation of the company. The solution would be to close all video rental stores at 6 pm and to throw away movies that are 5 years old or more. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are all the stores located at the same city? In other words, can circumstances from one store be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other stores? For instance, let us assume that the stores are all in the same city but in different locations. If a store is placed in the city center where there is a lot of movement, it is reasonable to assume that this particular rental store will have a greater number of customers throughout the day, thus profits would possibly go up if this rental store stays open for more time. In contrast, the exemplified store mentioned in the memorandum may be one of the stores that is located in a far away district, where costumers don’t attend it so often, justifying the reduction from 9:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M. Now let us assume a different scenario. All the stores are distributed throughout the state and each one is present in a different city. Smaller cities have less people and thus night life is not so present, therefore stores close at the end of the evening because the majority of people are at their houses by 6:00 PM. However, major cities are more dynamic and stores are often open till 10:00 P.M. which contradicts the suggestion in the memorandum. If either of these scenarios have merit, then conclusion drawn in the original statement is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are costumers drawn only towards new movies instead of the classics? If you remove from store all the movies that are 5 years old or more, you might me throwing away the majority of films in the store. Let us assume that one of the stores is located in a city where the majority of citizens are fifty years old or more and that these people enjoy watching movies from when they were teenagers. This rental store would be losing a great deal of revenue if it were to follow the suggestion of the owner of Movies Galore. There are also people that enjoy watching blockbusters and classics, thus contradicting the reason for removing part of the films in the store.

Last but not least, what is the difference in movie rental price from one rental store to another? One of the things that Movies Galore is proud of is their low cost in movie rental service, but is the price adequate for the current market situation? Maybe the prices of renting a movie at Movies Galore hasn’t caught up to the increase of the mortgage of the building. If mortgage prices go up and the product you’re selling stays the same price, how can you expect to have profit? Reducing open time will most likely not resolve the problem.

In conclusion, the statement, as it stands right now, is considerably flawed do to several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer these questions and offer more evidence towards his suggestion, then maybe it will be able to fully evaluate the problem and the solution.