The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the newsletter offering advice to investors, the author advises Old Dairy

stockholders to sell their shares and suggests to other investors not to buy

stocks from the company. The author cites the aparently negative response in the

survey, and the current high fat products of the companie as reasons to why

investors should stop interacting with Old Dairy Industries. However, before the

argument can be properly evaluated, three key questions must be answered.

First of all, what is the validity of the survey mentioned in the prompt? In

other words, are the results biased or unbiased? One possible reason that could

undermine the original assumption is that the newsletter was sponsored by

health oriented companies that are trying to persuade people into thinking that

investing in Old Dairy Industry is a bad idea. The news company might have received

a generous amount of money, and in trade, expect that news writers come up with an

article that leads people into shifting from fatty foods to more healthy options,

boosting sale in these companies. Therefore, if the above is true, then the

argument does not hold water.

Secondly, assuming that the survey is unbiased, how many people were involved in

the survey and where was the survey conducted? For instance, if the survey was

conducted at a region where people are into fitness and health, the outcome of the

survey will indicate that people tend to eat healthier, thus justifying the

results in the original argument. But, the survey will not reflect the reality of

the whole society. In order to garanty the validity of the argument, the survey

would have to have been more general. Another reason as to why the argument has

some flaws is that the author does not mention the ratio of high fat to low fat

foods from Old Dairy Industries, in fact, he only states that the company has many

fatty foods. This lessens the authenticity of the argument because we don´t know

which segment the company has the highest profits. Maybe the company has many more

low fat products that generate most of the companies income, suggesting that Old

dairy company is versatile and has numerous other foods that are sold widely. If

either of the ideas above are balid, then the original argument in the newsletter

is significantly weakened.

Last but not least, will people stop eating Old Dairy Industries foods just

because the survey showed that people desire to reduce their intake? This assumption

might show to be false. People might feel the need in lowering their

high-caloric food intakes but that does not meen that they will entirely stop

consuming these types of products. If this is the case, then the prompt has

significant problems.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its

reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the

three questions mentioned above and provide more evidence towards his point of

view, then the original statement can be properly evaluated.