Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the prompt above, the author states that opening a Nature’s Way store in Plainsville would be a total success. The author cites the healthy life style of the residents, merchants reporting an all-time high sales in sports related items and the general sport/health related lifestyle of the general population as evidence to support the success of the opening of the healthy food chain. However, before this idea can be properly evaluated, more information is needed.

First of all, the author assumes that opening a Nature’s Way franchise in Plainsville will be as successful as it has been in other cities where residents have shown to live health-oriented lives. One possible scenario that undermines this assumption might be that Plainsville already has numerous health food stores that hold a loyal customer base. Further, there is the possibility that the foods sold at Nature’s Way are less tasty than in other healthy food chains. If prices of the products in health stores are in average similar to what Nature’s Way intends to sell, then people will lean towards the store that possesses the better tasting foods. If either of these has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, being active and participating in different health and sports related clubs does not automatically correlate to eating healthier. One possible explanation for this scenario would be, for instance, that Plainsville is a major city in the region, and due to the fact that people are always in a rush, they prefer eating fast foods and home delivery. This means that although people are keen to working out and moving their bodies, they might be relaxed when the subject is food. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Last but not least, the author assumes that schoolchildren would be potential customers because they are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program. However, the author fails to consider that children, for the majority of houses, do not regulate what they eat in their meals. In fact, children, being fit or not, eat what their parents serve them. Only if parents shop in health oriented stores could result in these children eating such types of foods, but such assumption in not presented in the original argument, thus lessening the strength of the prompt.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed do to its reliance in several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three topics above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to better evaluate the viability of the ideas in the passage.