Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In colleges and universities you will always have different types of students, not only related to their majors, but also the way that they perceive knowledge. Some students can think for themselves and already know what they want and how to persue it at a relatively Young age, but the majority, due to inexperience prefer to be guided by someone that has more years of practice. In my opinion, a greater percentage of students benefits from having an institution dictate what they will study and the reasons are as follow.

To begin, having someone to point the right directionhelps students to be less worried with their choices. This is especially true for students that are around their early twenties. The majority of students are kids that just got out of high school, probably leaving on their own homes for the first time. The first semesters of college can be very tough because of the reality shock that students face. Statistics show that students that go through counceling, that are constantly in contact with other students and that have well thought strategy to go through their university time have a much greater chance of finishing their studies in due time and achieve their goals. Since students tend to be somewhat irresponsible and lazy, one of the best ways to enhance the chances of success would be to eliminate all unnecessary courses and leave them with the bare minimum.

Furthermore, giving the necessary content and information will most likely make students experts in the field instead of a wide view student. This is particularly important in fields of engineering and sciences. ANEEL, a major company in the electrical department in Brazil, is always recruting new talents. Although they clearly state in the application that there is nothing that impedes anyone to try out for a position, a great deal of candidates that are hired have a masters degree in electrical engineering or more. But, there are also some people that are hired and that have only a bachelors degree. These bachelors degree candidates present a high level of knowledge and maturity for their age and position that can only be achieved from a strong background in electrical power systems. Thus, the university and the specific curriculum that they choose can have a big impact in such positions.

Admittedly, there are some students that are mature enough to dictate their own rithm. These students tend to be a little bit older, sometimes already having some job experience in the past that lead them to choose their future studies. In these cases, students have a better chance of being succesful out ot the university when they have the freedom to choose the path in which they want to pursue. For instance, students that have a technical bachground, technicians, already have a good understanding of the technical contents that will be taught at the universities courses. These students would benefit from doing different types of courses that, in their experience, can help them become better employees and thinkers in the future.

In conclusion, although there are some students that benefit from having more freedom to choose their study path, the majority would certainly benefit even more from having the university trace the path to success.