Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Whatsapp is the number one chatting app in the world, being able to send messages, send hilarious stickers back and forth, audio messages, video conferences and much more. All of this is possible because technology has been pushing communication in this direction, a relatively safe zone where people can chat in real time, with almost zero delay. Therefore, in my opinion, I strongly believe that technology has helped human interaction, and the reasons are as follows.

To begin, there has never existed in history a technological gadget that enables people to talk to one another in real-time. The internet made exchanging information very easy and the technological industry took advantage of this emerging technology with the creation of personal computers and smartphones. Before the internet boom, people would have to write letters to love ones so that they could transmit what they were feeling at the time. If you, for instance, live in Brazil and you send a letter to someone in europe, the message could take up to weeks until it reached its final destination. By the time, the reader would understand the past feelings of the writer. So many things could have happened in this time window, maybe he fell and broke his leg, or maybe he won in the lottery and is now a millionaire. It is safe to say that internet made our lives more public through the lens of smartphones.

Furthermore, technology made long distance chatting cheaper. The price for international phone calls has become what both individuals pay for their internet providers. For instance, I have been sending e-mails to a professor in New York about my interest in working with him and having him as my supervisor. We started sending e-mails back and forth and we realized that the communication was starting to become garbled. He suggested a live video chat in order to elucidate some topics. I thought that it would be a 10 minute conversation given his overly packed agenda, but, for my surprise, the conversation flowed so well that it lasted 50 minutes, jumping from topic to topic and even having some laughs. Letters and e-mails most certainly would not have the same impact in both of us if it wasn’t for the live stream.

Of course, some argue that communicating through smartphones and computers made us less aware of the people next to us, resulting in a faulty human interaction. Some would point out to the fact that people in bus stops or metro stations are less likely to start a conversation with the individuals in their surroundings, preferring their selfish gadgets. Although this is true, especially in big cities where there are numerous amounts of people trying to go from one place to another with minimum social interaction as possible, we must not forget that many years ago, people did not have smartphones, but they had newspapers and books that they used to block social interaction and to learn something new. Thus, one can not blame technology for the lack of human interaction nowadays, it just showed the other side of humans, and that is: they just don’t want to talk.

In conclusion, technology has had a tremendous impact in social interaction, providing us with ways to talk to people from all around the world with one seamless press of a button.