The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article written by Dr. Karp, it is stated that his research related to children in Tertia and other groups of people living in other islands debunks the findings of Dr. Field. Dr. Karp’s research found that children living in these islands spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other villagers, even though these children were reared by the entire village instead of being solely nurtured by their parents. However, before the argument in the prompt can be properly evaluated, three key points must be answered.

First of all, the author is suggesting that the people from Tertia in which Dr. Field spent time with twenty years ago and the current version of Tertia’s population, where himself conducted the research, are the same. However, this might not be the case. One possible scenario that undermines this assumption is that villagers from the island teach the young ones to obey their parents and to always look at them as being role models. This might explain why when Dr. Karp encountered the children for the first time, he described the children as being more close to their parents. Another possible explanation could be that Dr. Karp got confused when he started talking to the local people. It is mentioned in the prompt that Dr. Karp conducted research in different islands, including Tertia. One possibility could be that due to numerous different groups, he might have used erroneously a word that has a meaning in one tribe and another completely different meaning for Tertia’s individuals. Therefore, If either have merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original statement is severely weakened.

Secondly, he criticizes Dr. Field for using an observation-centered approach in his research twenty years ago while stating that the interview – centered method is the right way to go. He prematurely assumes that Dr. Field’s methods are invalid, providing information that the current interview method that his team is using is much more accurate. One possible explanation for the observation-centered approach from Dr. Field might be that he was well aware that people from these islands were not keen towards outsiders, especially people from the city. He might have received the information that people from the tribe, in order to trick him, would give false information when questioned. That might explain why Dr. Karp, instead of conducting interviews with all the people from the island, just observed activities of the people from Tertia. If this is valid, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the key points mentioned above and provide more evidence towards his findings, then it is possible to fully evaluate the ideas in the passage.