Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays, news platforms have been able to significantly increased their views due to the internet and pocket computers, better known as smartphones. Breaking news pop in front of our eyes very easily, being seen by millions in a couple of minutes. In the prompt, it is stated that scandals are useful because people become aware of problems that probably were under the radar. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement and the reasons are as follows.

First of all, scandals can make people more critic about what they deem to be true. This is especially accurate when we talk about politics and the government. The vast majority of people don’t have the necessary background to be able to think for themselves, making them easily persuaded by what others want them to believe. Thus, breaking news can trigger people into reflecting more on their beliefs. For instance, president Trump has been accused of using his office powers to obtain incriminating information about Joe Biden’s son, which could lead Joe Biden into losing voters for the next election. This scandal had a big impact in the news and in society because all of a sudden people started paying more attention to the highest government position in the country and became aware of the concerning issues that he is dealing with. This awareness is spreading and people are talking about it everywhere. This promotes more discussions and more people engaged in politics, meaning more enlightened voters.

Secondly, scandals can show people that the current laws have weak points that are being exploited by those in power. It is not uncommon to see regular changes in countries constitutions, in fact, it is evolving all the time because life as we know it is dynamic. As we grow as a society, the laws that govern need to challenged in order to keep up with the proposed advances. For instance, in colonial times, British, Spanish and Portuguese settlers thought that the native people from the American Continent were not worthy of their lands, in fact, many believed that these natives were less human than the Europeans. Today, we know that European settlers used their religious and military powers to enrich themselves. It was only after hundreds of years that people started realizing that the slaves had the same emotions, the same need as any other person. Nowadays, there are NGO’s that are concerned with what has remained of such tribes and civilizations, as they push forward propositions to at least try to make the life of these individuals better.

Of course, like everything in life, there are pros and cons. One of the biggest problems with scandals is that it can generate even more corruption. For example, there are instances where the master-mind behind a ploy is caught red handed, making national news and being crucified by all sorts of news platforms. This can deceive people into thinking that this particular individual is the only rotten apple in the fruit basket, therefore, once this person is dealt with, then everything will be back to normal. But, behind the scenes of the corruption story, many, including people that are perceived as just, are getting wealthier with impunity. While one goes to jail, tens if not hundreds that are connected to the corruption scheme are free, perpetrating their wrong doings.

In conclusion, scandals can be an effective way bringing peoples attentions to polemic issues. As a society, we expect to learn from our mistakes in order to continue to grow.