Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the passage above, the disappearance of arctic deer in the Canadian arctic islands has been attributed to high temperatures in modern days. These deer have a pattern of jumping from island to island through sea ice that bridge them together. Local hunters have reported a decline in deer population and they conclude that this is due to deer being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across frozen sea. However, before the idea in the passage can be properly evaluated, three topics must be addressed.

First of all, it is safe to say that global warming is the only reason that artic dear population have declined in the last years? It is possible that hunters themselves are the main reason why encountering these animals in the wild have become increasingly more difficult. Let us assume that up to this point, local hunters have been very cautious with how they hunted these mammals. Despite their efforts, outside hunters have illegally been poaching these animals until few of them are left, harming their chances of surviving and procreating. This could explain why local hunters have seen a reduction in the number of these deer. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the environmental changes in the last years may have brought new predators to the Canadian artic islands. Such global warming may have pushed predators like polar bears, into more tangential areas of the continent in search of food. Due to the fact that deer are now more constrained in fewer islands, polar bears have a better chance of hunting their prey. This might explain why some islands are less populated, either due to less migration or due to more predation from bears.

Last but not least, hunters might be searching in the wrong places. One possibility is that local hunters might have seen a recurrent pattern in the migration of deer that is not the norm for these animals. The statement makes clear that these arctic animals live in regions where it is warm enough to sustain plant growth during the course of the year. Since they were used to seeing these animals roam in the artic islands, once they realized that the number of deer was off, they misleadingly concluded that global warming, a popular trending subject nowadays, is the sole responsible for the decrease in the number of these mammals. If the argument has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is considerably flawed do to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three topics above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the ideas in the passage.