The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores, the author assumes that by placing ads in the monthly magazine Exotic Pets Monthly, just as Fish Emporium, the company will be able to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making money again. The author cites a 15 percent increase in sales from Fish Emporium and the fact that all their stores are located at Gulf City as reasons to why Top Dog Pet Stores should do the same. However, before the statement can be properly evaluated, three key points must be addressed.

First of all, it is not guaranteed that advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly will have the same impact as it had in Fish Emporium. One possible explanation that could undermine the assumptions in the original passage is that the author does not state when did Fish Emporium started increasing sales. Fish Emporium might have seen a boost in sales immediately after their advertisements started popping up in the magazine, but , another possibility could be that they only reverted their financial situation after a long period of ad exposure in Exotic Pets Monthly. This information could be detrimental to Top Dog Pet Stores because we do not know how long the company can withstand the declining sales trend. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the name of the magazine suggests that its main focus is around exotic animal species. Fish Emporium might have reverted their financial situation because alongside their typical aquatic animals, they also some cool looking animals that can be categorized as exotic, such as eels, snapping turtles and colorful sea water snakes. On the other hand, Top Dog Pet Store could be a store specialized in hounds, that we can all agree doesn’t sound exotic. If the information above is valid, then the ideas in the original argument are significantly weakened.

Last but not least, Gulf City might have so many different pet stores that there is no guarantee that placing ads in a magazine could increase their income. Other local stores might already have placed their advertisements in other magazines and for a longer period of time that people are already familiarized with the rival pet stores. That is why we can not assure that Top Dog Pet Store will have the same fate as Fish Emporium.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed do to its reliance in several unwarranted assumptions. However, if the author of the memo is able to answer the three key questions mentioned above and provide more evidence towards his or her assumptions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the ideas stated in the original passage.