According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage above, the author suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt a honor code that is similar to what was implemented in Groveton College in order to decrease the number of cheaters and cheating situations. The prompt cites the success in the honor code used in Groveton College as reasons to why other colleges and universities should implement this solution. However, before this idea can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are all college and university students across the country the same? In other words, can it be expected that a similar honor code can change the perspective of cheating among students outside Groveton? It is possible that other universities have tried the honor code before but showed it to be ineffective, thus relying in teachers to monitor their students during the year. Another possibility would be that other institutions utilize an artificial intelligence algorithm to inspect the work of all students. Due to a huge data base, the artificial intelligence can effectively point out students that might be either copying work from their class mates or from other students from previous years. If either is valid, then the information in the original passage is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the recent survey reliable? One possible scenario that undermines this assumption is that students might have given false information in the survey in order to cheat even more. For instance, students, aware that their friends were being caught red handed more often decided to contrive a masterful plan to deceive the professors and the school board into thinking that they are less likely to cheat with an honor code. The honor code has a couple of flaws if all the students adhere to the cheating scheme. With a lessening of monitoring from the teachers, it becomes easier to cheat if all the students in the classroom are unethical, thus tricking the college into believing that students are just. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Last but not least, is the honor code the one and only method to be used? The author states that Groveton college changed completely the rules of monitoring, leaving it to the students rather than the teachers. Although the number of cheater caught was less than what was perceived years ago, there are still some of them being caught. What if the institution adheres to multiple ways of monitoring students? That could bring the number of cheating episodes to a even smaller number, suggesting that the best way to deal with these students is by having different proof methods. This just comes to show that the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance in several unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, if the author is able to answer the three questions and provide more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the ideas in the passage.