The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter sent to a friend by a homeowner, he states that there are two leading real estate firms in town and that he suggests his friend to sell his house using Adams Realty instead of Fitch Realty. He continues his letter by mentioning that Adams is superior because of the greater number of employees in the firm compared to Fitch and that the average price of Adams selling houses were greater than Fitch’s. He finishes his letter by mentioning that 10 years ago he took 4 months to sell his house with Fitch while recently he sold a house using Adam Realty in a month. However, before this idea can be properly evaluated, some topics must be addressed.

First of all, we can not assume that the housing market was the same ten years ago compared to today. The housing market depends greatly on how the economy of the country is doing, therefore some possibilities may have occurred. For instance, the homeowner might have been fortunate enough to sell his house in a month. We don’t know for sure if selling a house in one month is a common thing or if it was an outlier. Another possibility would be that people were more drawn into paying rents instead of buying their own houses. This might be the case if the economy is suffering, people will not have enough money to buy their own houses, thus forcing individuals to pay rent for housing or apartments. If either of the scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, we don’t know for sure what guaranteed a higher price of sold houses from Adams Realty compared to Fitch Realty. We know that buyers generally choose their house based in the value of the property associated with how the building looks. If the house requires a lot of renovations and improvements, the price of the house will certainly drop. One possibility is that Adams Realty has sold in the last couples of years more complete houses than houses that required some type of change, which increased significantly the average prices of the sales. The homeowner’s friend might be trying to sell a very old very old property that might have the same selling price in either of the Realty companies. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Last but not least, maybe Fitch Realty has less employees because they are better at their job than the 40 employees that Adams has. The homeowner implies that Fitch has only 25 employees and that only work part time, which sounds less impressive when you hear it compared to what Adams Realty has. But, one reason for the difference in numbers and the working shift might be that Fitch Realty has so much work to do that they prefer separating house showings and office work to ensure a more efficient and gratifying experience for the customer and the buyer. This just comes to show that the argument in the prompt has its weaknesses.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is considerably flawed do to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three topics above and offer more evidence, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the ideas in the passage.