Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are supposed to be a place where students feel free to express themselves. Teachers must motivate students instead of cutting down their dreams. The prompt states that educational institutions have the responsibility to guide their students into pursuing fields of study of which they consider it to be successful. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement above and the reasons are as follows.

First of all, if the educational institutions are choosing the path that they deem successful for their students, they are automatically taking away the freedom of choice. It is much more important for the schools to teach the young ones how to decide for themselves instead of limiting the possibilities. For instance, private high schools in Brazil are driven by their student approvals at college, going as far as putting the results and the students photos in local billboards for propaganda. But instead of displaying all the students and their achievements, they choose to display only what they consider to be successful approvals, such as medicine, engineering and law school. This is to show that schools tend to brain wash their students into pursuing careers that make them more money, because higher approval rates in “successful” fields of study equals more new students and more parents willing to put their children to study there. Unfortunately, children’s beliefs come second place.

Secondly, there is no international system of units for success. This point of view diverges a lot from our generation to previous generations. Older generations tended to use a one fit mold for life, people would leave their parents houses in order to study or work, they would work hard, get married, have children, work even harder to provide for the family, see their children grow and eventually leave home in order to repeat the cycle once again. Nowadays, people are more aware of their possibilities, knowing that they can reach for different tangents in life that also lead to successful goals. Schools must help students to identify all the different paths to success and give the proper tools for them to walk by their own.

Of course, there are always students that display aptitudes that don’t align with what they want to pursue for a field of study. That is why there are trained counselors that work together with students to help them decide what they want to study. It is important to mention that the counselor does not have the authority to choose the field of study for the student, rather he gathers the student’s strong points to makes a list of suggestions for what the student might enjoy. In contrast to what was suggested in the prompt, the counselor works side by side with the teenager in order to help them with the difficult decision of choosing the path for their success.

In conclusion, I believe that schools have the responsibility to guide the students to make the right decisions. Although they can help students, they can not force them into choosing what they consider the right choice, at the end of the day, only the student has the power to select his or her success.