Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

The issue of whether or not technology reduces opportunities for human interaction is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, in my opinion, technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another, because the primary purpose of communication is to pass information from one person to another. Furthermore, use of technology makes communication faster, convenient and cheaper, it also helps people to connect globally via internet and social media.

To begin, without communication, human interaction is almost impossible; for knowledge acquisition and to do daily activities information is required. In fact, use of technology has made interaction cheaper, faster and convenient with the invent of mobile phone, computers, internet, televisions, radios and all such devices. For example, a job seeker can easily get information about an opening in an organization via the company’s website or on Linked in and send application for the role, be shortlisted for a virtual interview and thereafter get the offer. From the above illustration, use of technology in communication helped the organization interact with candidates; recruit seamlessly, faster and at a lower cost.

In addition, technology has helped improve interaction in the buying and selling world. For instance in the 1980s’ a woman would spend hours in the market shopping for groceries and household items but with the advent of online malls, merchants have been able to reach the global market with myriads of products and services thus; consumers can easily interact with sellers, buy items online and channel effort to more productive tasks. Consequently, a Chinese merchant can easily interact with a merchant based in U.S.A, purchase items and sell them online without any face to face interaction. The above example further buttresses the position that use of technology has enhanced global connection and inter-racial interactions.

Furthermore, human interaction has been further enhanced with the use of social websites like facebook, twitter, whatsapp and instagram. Through these platforms, Lecturers, teachers, old schoolmates have maintained contact with one another, give updates on happening in their field of study and each member shares knowledge and experience. Moreover, these platforms allow has made communication better, one can easily make friends even globally and learn cultures of other countries.

Of course, some argue that use of technology can reduce opportunity for human interaction as they believe virtual communication is not sufficient enough to keep up a strong and solid relationship since “Out of sight” is “out of mind”. For a strong anf intimate connection in relationships, verbal and non-verbal communication is vital. At times, people’s reaction differs from their words and to understand such persons, decryption of nonverbal interactions is required. For example in a virtual conversation, even if the other party is telling lies the receiver will have no cue of this, but in a face to face conversation, one could easily decipher from the body language that something is not right. However, introduction of other means of communication like; Skype video call, webinar has enhanced interaction when conversing so that other nonverbal messages could be communicated as well.

In conclusion, although use of technology has reduced physical interaction between humans but it has helped enhance virtual interaction globally, made communication cheaper, faster and convenient, buying and selling is now being carried out without need for a physical structure, new relationships spring up and existing relationships blossoms. Isn’t this lovely?