A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The writer is of the opinion that all the students of a nation should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I am strongly of the opinion that the students of a nation should not necessarily study the same national curriculum based on three premises outlined below.

To begin, against popular belief, a nation with a general curriculum for all of its students avails them the opportunity to easily blend when they move to other states. For example: If a family based in the Northern part of the country is relocated to the South, it would normally not be so easy to place the child in the same class as in the north- due to the use of seperate curriculum. I will also be challenging for the teacher to bring that child to the same level as his new classmates. However, when a nation's curruculum is the same, the child can easily register to a new school in the west and continue with studies. This way, environmental change has not deprived the child of access to quality education.

On the contrary, maintaining a general curriculum for all students of a nation could adversely affect the students ability to learn societal culture and blend in the society. For instance: if a national curriculum is enforced, schools would be unable to draft their curriculum in favour of societal values and these values are relative to ethnicity and geographical location. For instance: in western Nigeria, there are cultural differences, a child residing in the west should learn to prostrate to greet elders while a child in the north do not need to prostrate or kneel down as a form of respect. This further buttress the importance of societal values in educational curriculum.

To further more, i am of the opinion that each state government should handle curriculum for it's state due to geographical differences. For example, islamic religion is prominent in the northern part of Nigeria and this is intertwined with their culture. Infact, in some areas, females are not allow to walk around without an hijab. A centralized educational curriculum would rob the locals of these areas of these values.

An hausa man for instance, will not support an educational curriculum that deprives his children access to religion and culture.

In conclusion, a general curriculum as advised is a great idea; however to avoid an uproar from populace, i am of the opinion that it should be better handled by each state government. A general curriculum with compulsory subjects should be drafted