THE FOLLOWING IS TAKEN FROM A MEMO FROM THE ADVERTISING DIRECTOR OF SUPERSCREEN MOVIE PRODUCTION COMPANY

“ACCORDING TO A RECENT REPORT FROM OUR MARKETING DEPARTMENT, DURING THE PAST YEAR, FEWER PEOPLE ATTENDED SUPERSCREEN PRODUCED MOVIES THAN IN ANY OTHER YEAR. AND YET THE PERCENTAGE POSITIVE REVIEW BY MOVIE REVIEWERS ABOUT SPECIFIC SUPERSCREEN MOVIES ACTUALLY INCREASED DURING THE PAST YEAR. CLEARLY, THE CONTENTS OF THIS REVIEW ARE NOT REACHING ENOUGH OF OUR PROSPECTIVE VIEWERS. THUS, THE PROBLEM LIE NOT WITH THE QUALITY OF OUR MOVIES BUT WITH THE PUBLIC’S LACK OF AWARENESS THAT MOVIES OF GOOD QUALITY ARE AVAILABLE. SUPERSCREEN SHOULD THEREFORE ALLOCATE A GREATER SHARE OF ITS BUDGET NEXT YEAR TO REACHING THE PUBLIC THROUGH ADVERTISING.”

Reports from the marketing department of Super screen revealed decrease in the number of attendees for Super Screen produced movies, but then percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased; based on this the writer assumed contents of the reviews are not reaching prospective viewers and thereby concluded is is as result of public's lack of aware of Superscreen movies.

To begin, the author claimed that movie reviewers gave a positive review of specific Super Screen movies. The writer assumed that the same movies that was reviewed are preferred by populace of that locality; however, this assumption might be wrong as movies preferences are specific to age groups. Supposing the population of people in the suburb are more of children and superscreen produces adult movies, this could explain the reason for the decline. It is pertinent that the writer look into the population mix of attendees

In addition, the writer assumes that public lack of awareness is a reason for the decline, i think this was a bit myopic as there is no details of the media of comunication used by the movie reviewers to diseminate the review. Published reviews in the dailies could limit access of potential attendees to such information.

Also, the writer assumed that only Super screen produces good quality movies. It is possible that Super Screen's movies quality though positively rated, is not ranking high as other movie producing company's and as such viewers prefer other company's movie over SuperScreen's.

In conclusion, the writer failed to purport a convincing reason for recommending budget increment in advert to boost number of movie attendees for SuperScreen produced movies. To validate this position, i argue that a further review be conducted on the population mix of attendees of SuperScreen movies, medium of advert to be employed to reach its target audience, competitive stength in comparison with it's competitors.