Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us.Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The author is of the opinion that late night news should be devoted to local news; premised on the fact that viewers complained about the station's coverage of weather and local news and cancellation of local business advertising contracts. He believes that more viewers would be attracted to the program and amelliorate advertising contracts.

To begin, the writer wrote about viewer's complaint but failed to specify the areas viewers complained about. Viewers complaints might have been about the content of the local news shared. Perhaps, the information in the news is not a true picture of what happened. The complains could equally have been on the implausible weather forcast given and not neccessarily the broadcast time alloted to it.

In addition, the local companies cancelled their advertising contracts. however, did not give any information on the reason for cancellation. The locals might have gotten better offer from other 'television stations and at a cheaper cost. A better offer would avail the locals opportunity to make extra saving from the cost of existing adverts with the former advert television station. Thus, the owners of local businesses would gladly accept cheaper offer for profit maximization.

To furthermore, the writer failed abruptly concluded that time alloted for national news broadcast be reduced without considering the needs of the locals that enjoy watching national news. It is possible that a larger mix of the populace enjoy these programs. He shouldnt just drastically conclude based on unreveiwed complains that national news program is not preferred over weather report and local news. Infact, this could be perceived as an opportunity to market the local businesses on a larger scale; advertising businessed to a larger audience could invariably translate to more sales and more profit for the locals.

Also, the writer stated in his conclusion the need to reach out to more viewers but failed to acknowledge that more viewers would only be reached if the television station promotes programs that attracts larger audience. National news is a delight of most occupants of a locality. Everyone would want to know what is happening in the other parts of the country. Recent policies enacted by the government an