"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that the news channel needs to increase the time it devotes to the local news and weather the author's argument does not make a cogent case for returning to the previous schedule of the news channel.

Citing the example of local advertisers cancelling contracts with the news channel is not sufficient argument since the advertisers may have cancelled contracts for a number of reasons. They could have cancelled contracts because maybe the news channel increased their fees of advertising and the local businesses could not afford it. It could also be due to the channel refusing to play the advertisement in the time slot chosen by the business and as a result the local businesses were getting affected. The author needs to provide an evidence as to what exactly are the reasons stated by the local businesses before cancelling their contracts. If the evidence is able to back the author's claim that indeed the contracts were cancelled because the news channel is losing viewers then the author's arguments will be strengthened.

The author also states that the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with coverage of weather and local news this argument is also not complete since we do not know whether the complaint was made by a group of viewers or a single viewer complained multiple times. Another flaw in the argument is whether the complaint was made by a someone who is a regular viewer of the program or by someone who was watching the show for the first time. If the author is able to provide evidence regarding the nature of the viewer then it will definitely help to strenghten his position.

Building on the implication that the news channel will be able to attract more viewers and more revenues in lieu of advertising by restoring their old show timings the author is making an assumption that it is only due to these reasons that the news channel is facing loses. In order to strengthen his argument the author must first provide evidence stating the exact reasons for the news channel losing viewers. They can simply be losing viewers because other competitive news channels have some better programs at the same time. Or maybe a comedy show started airing at the same time on a different channel. Thus the author must provide evidence that backs up his claim of the news channel losing viewers. Another evidence that must be provided is the actual number of viewers lost and the period of the loss. The reduction in the number of viewers could have begun even before the channel made changes in their programs. Also the period when this loss was noted is not given. Some viewers might have switched to a different news channel for some time and returned to the old one later.

Change is never appreciated but the way in which it is presented can make the process easier. Thus the author must provide evidence for his claims of loss in viewers and also for loss in advertising revenue which will strengthen his arguments and also to persuade the channel to return to their original schedule of programs.