"We venerate loyalty- to our schools, employers, institutions, friends- as a virtue. Loyalty, however can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one"

Compose an essay that identifies how greatly you concur (or differ with the statement) provided, describing in detail the rationale for your argument. As you build and provide evidence for your argument provide examples that demonstrate circumstances in which the statement could (or could not) be valid. Be sure to explain the impact these examples have on your argument.

Loyalty can be treated as a virtue in our culture but like the flip sides of a coin where does the breaking point appear where blind loyalty does more harm than it does good. Loyalty should be conditional. It should be given only on the basis of merit. It is a virtue that is indicative of the person's faith on the other persons abilities. This faith however should not be based on inhibition. It should be given on a merit basis.

Blindly pledging loyalty to a political party, in my opinion, will only prove to be detrimental. Adolf Hitler's charisma gained him a lot of followers. However their blind loyalty permitted him to commit heinous crimes and atrocities against citizens. If citizens would have been ready to not be so autonomous and would have questioned his actions perhaps the scale of his torturous mechanisms would have scaled down.

Blindly being loyal to your employer can also lead to problems. Say for example, there is a factory and the company running the factory is aware of the safety hazards but does not report them to avoid the cost of fixing them. The employees see the safety hazards and are aware of their repercussions but decide not to report them because of company loyalty. Worst-case scenario is that there is a near-fatal accident or a life threatening situation because the dangers were unreported. This would all be because the company's employees were too

(blindly) loyal and did not go to the company head on time and lay down their concerns.

There are nevertheless benefits of loyalty. It can be good to feel as if you can rely on someone and likewise for them to rely on you. It makes things predictable in that you know how things will run. Consider the loyalty in any relationship, say between 2 siblings. The feeling of being able to rely on your sibling, knowing "someone has your back", will help a person grow and take some risks which he otherwise would not. However that is not always the case. Sometimes some events blindsided us. The story of a mother who kept covering up for her son's petty crimes, and in the end the son was jailed is a perfect example of blindsided loyalty.

Loyalty is detrimental when it is blind, however its continuous questioning can be beneficial to society.