The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. in developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The difference between a leader and a boss is that a leader will be someone who ensures that all his subjects feel like they are equals. He will ensure that everyone is progressing in a just manner under his leadership. A boss on the other hand will only look at his own progress over that of others. Young people form the backbone of society. Their minds are like clay and can be moulded as per the needs of the society. It is very important to shape young minds to become good leaders for a society to not only function smoothly but also for it to progress and reach new heights.

When young minds are trained to be competitive they have an attitude for looking out for opportunities which will benefit them and only them. They will always have an attitude to look out for personal gains over those of others. This attitude will not be beneficial if the society as a whole needs to progress. It will hamper progress in the long run. Opportunities which may benefit everyone but do not provide any personal gains to a leader who has a competitive mindset may be ignored by him/her. Healthy competition is always welcome as it helps one be on his or her toes however an attitude that harbors excessive competition may turn into selfishness whereas a leader should be selfless. Consider for example a leader who always has a competitive attitude and needs to form a comittee which will build a garden as part of a waste water management plant. A competitive leader will try to take all the decisions himself without considering maybe better suggestions from some other people in the pursuit of proving his merit. It may happen that the project takes longer to complete or does not match the vision of the rest of the people who suggested it in the first place. However no one will really be able to criticise the leader's work as they will not feel safe in such an environment.

On the other hand leaders who have been raised with a co-operative mindset will always help in the growth of the society or their team since they will understand the needs of even the lowest strata of their community. Such leaders will harbor feelings of empathy, selflessness and will have a greater level of understanding towards the pain and sufferage of their subjects. They will also be good at judging and appreciating the talent of each and every teammate thus creating a harmoniuos workspace.

A good leader does not walk alone, and it is very important that this thought be imbibed in the minds of young people. They should first be able to differntiate between a leader and a boss which will help them understand what is needed on their behalf. First and foremost for a leader is to understand the needs of the constituents of his society. For someone who has the thought of co-operation it will be easy to allot different tasks to various people who work for him. He will have a better problem solving capacity since he/she would know what is expected off him. Consider the same example as above of constructing a garden. A leader with a cooperative attitude will distribute the tasks and will ensure that it is progressing successfully and at the expected pace. He might also be able to get more work done out of the workers and exceed the expectations of people by providing a better garden than what was initially decided since he

For someone who takes every growth opportunity as a personal competition it might prove to be tiresome in the long run since he/she would insist on coming up with a solution for each problem themselves. This thought process will only slow down the process of progress.

Thus it is very important for young minds to be brought up with a sense of cooperation rather than competition so that they understand the needs of their constituency and have a problem solving attitude which is based on empathy rather than an attitude which is based on self-progress or self-growth.