A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The success of a nation directly correlates to the education of its people as education is the determining factor in many societial outcomes, like college success and socioeconomic status. Still, when considering the approach of a nation to the educational system, it is imperative to focus on the individuals it seeks to serve. A prescriptive K-12 curriculum which does not allow for nuancy and diversity will ultimately diservice a nation as a whole because it does not meet the needs of different learning needs or unique lived experiences, and usurps the power from local communities.

To begin, a nation is made up of a rich conglomerate of diverse people with unique learning needs. Forcing all students to study the same nation curriculum would ultimately be a disservice because this top-down approach could not account for all of the unique needs of its people. For example, students with learning disabilities should not be expected to learn at the same pace and level as other students with a higher ability. Instead, teachers, administrators, and local law makers should have the reserved right to decide how to best serve their communities through careful pedagogical practice and observations in the classroom. A nation that revokes the right of local governments to govern is il equipped to remain flexible when working with a population of diverse learners.

To continue, people across a nation have varying lived experiences which directly impact their ability to make connections with curriculum lessons. It is necessary to remain sensitive to differing cultures by reflecting lived experiences in the curriculum. A prescriptive national curriculum will not account for the varying interests and experiences of individual learners. For example, local urban communities have different ideals then urban communities within a nation and will therefore respond to the curriculum differently, often times at the expense of those who do not relate to the given lessons. Instead, promoting culturally-relevant curricula based on the rich histories and lived experiences of local communicities would best serve students across a nation.

To conclude, celebrating the uniqueness of local communities as opposed to forcing them to conform to federal government standards is the best fit leading to college. When teachers, administrators, and local law makers are able to critically evaluate and improve their own curriculum, students are at a greater advantage entering college. If individual student needs and unique lived experiences are diliberately forgotten, families in local communities will eventually become warrisome of the nation's education system instead of having faith in it. Ulitmately, it is the responsibility of local communities to prepare students for college success through student-centered curriculum.