132. Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Modern technology is developing in a unprecedented pace and promoted our options to communicate with each other. Through all these incredible technologies we were able to interact in ways that we have never could have imagined, and form a globalized world. Nevertheless, the quality of communication is corrupted by all these intermediate devices compared to the past.

Admittedly, the overall number of human interactions is facilitated by current communication technology. People around the world ceaselessly communicates by using Facebook, Twitter or Instagram even if they are total strangers to each other. Furthermore, with these technologies we are able to make spontaneous face calls to families that are living abroad or the media can broadcast the Olympics to the world in 3D by using modern communication systems. Not to mention instant messaging between your pears and colleagues. All these paramount inventions were something we could not imagine in the past, and thus is lucid that it is making ourselves more interconnected to each other.

Furthermore, with the development of communication skills the earth was able to become globalized. Through the internet representatives are able to have meetings without having to allocate a prolonged time to attend the conventions which sometimes ends without any advancements. Also, students who are studying around can keep in touch with their families simply by using their phones. Also, people can now experience foreign countries even if they do not travel their by using VR technology: companies like Oculus is trying to promote this type of traveling media since many people who are not able to travel are expecting these contents. Hence, through these innovations we are able to live a globalized society.

In contrast, even if these technologies enabled us to participate in numerous interactions, it seems that the quality of it has been deteriorated. Before the invention of cellphones, people would send letters that were thought out and sincere to keep in touch which is more intimate compared to just sending a message in Kakao-Talk. Moreover, because people are engaged in online communication, it distracts them from real face to face meetings: they keep looking on their phones and check messages instead of becoming immersed in the conversation. Therefore, the development of technology is the foundation of the wide and shallow relationship between people of the modern society.

In conclusion, modern communication devices such as mobile phones have empowered us to be in contact in any situation, and thus gifted us with globalization. Still, the gift has come with a price that we are paying by the superficial relationships.