The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The two corporations both are presuming that they will be able to obtain more profit by opening a new store int Salem. However, the assertions does not seem sound because it fails to discern the difference between Winston and Salem, Namen fails to corroborate the relationship between income and the people's willingness to spend it on clothes, and finally Roscoe should elaborate on why suburbs are more family oriented.

First of all, the Winston is a major district while Salem is in the rural area. Therefore even if the two brands open stores to sell their products, it may be unattractive to people residing their. Their fashion may be more pertinent to the city by compromising comfort for style which could be a major reason for the people who prioritize comfort to shun from purchasing the products. To further support the idea, both corporations should elaborate on the styles of clothes they are trying to sell and whether it is attractive to the general public.

Next, the Namen's allegience that more income means profusive spending on clothing seems incogent. People could want to save or invest their extra income rather than spend it on clothes because these people want to prepare for the future. Hence, the Namen company should substantiate the correlation between the average income rate and the willingness to spend the tangential money on clothes.

Finally, Roscoe's argument about suburbian's proclivity towards family seems incoherent. Salem could be experiencing population increase due to the influx of singles wanting to reside with the nature. In that case, the majority of residents may be single and thus will not be family oriented rather, they would actually have no family at all. Consequently, to make the asseveration more persuasive, the executives of the company could provide evidence on the population of the community and their spending habits: whether they are single or married, and whether they spend for themselves or for their families.

In conclusion, for the argument to be logical, it should provide more information regarding the difference of cities and suburbs and their disposition towards clothing, relationship between total income and how thriftyness, and whether the people of the community truly thinks for their kins before themselves.