Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

The passage asserts that student participation in community service has declined and therefore, schools should facilitate their engangment in these social services. however, the argument is missing information to be cogent. To be further persuasive, it should elaborate on whether the decrease is truly significant, and participation in community service would influence teenager's conception of the society, and finally that why 40 hours is a reasonable amount of time that should be compelled to students.

First of all, the significant decrease in student volunteer rates should be explained in more detail. For instance, although the total number of students that helped these organizations could have decreased from 100 to 50. however, the total ratio of students participating might increase if the total number of students also decreased: for example, from 150 to 60 due to dwindling birth rate. therefore, the passage should substantiate this "significant decrease" by giving specific numbers to be sound.

Next, concluding that taking part in these activities will help student's comprehension of the giving back to the society seems hasty. student might be unwilling to help these communities and would prefer studying or having fun instead. In this case - although they could still learn from the experience - they will not fully engage in the activities and just try to get over the situation by spending time. therefore, the notion that students will from this opportunity is illogical and would need further evidence to support it.

finally, 40 hours seem like a arbitrary time decided by the authorities of the High school and requires more explanation on why this certain amount was selected. 40 hours could be too long a time to be fulfilled by highschool students because of the schoolwork they have to finish. Moreover, because of the limit of students who can take part at a time, it could be nearly impossible for students to meet the requirements of graduation. although the passage could be presenting this number after deliberation, there still is no supporting detail to be telling to the readers.

In conclusion, the asseveration that the passage makes logical fallacies that require additional support to be persuasive. it should give quantitative analysis of the decrease of students helping the community service organizations, corroborate why compelling them to volunteer will be propitious for them, and finally, why 40 hours is a optimal time for students.