Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

The argument states that Pleasantville School Board must institute a program for students to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation. So that this will increase the number of volunteers as a support for local charities. Stated in this way the argument fails to provide key factors, based on which the argument can be evaluated. The conclusion for the argument lies on the assumptions for which there is no proper evidence. So, the argument is weak and unconvincing.

First, the argument readily assumes that teenagers are lacking the value of community service as there is a decrease number of teenage volunteers. This statement is a stretch because they might be going to different charities that offer better community services than the local services. Let us take an example of people visiting a particular sacred place. If there is a decrease in the number of visitors to that place that does not mean that peoples values for religions have decreased. They might be more interested in visiting other sacred places because of their own personal reasons. So, the decrease in the volunteers might be because they are more interested in taking part in some other charitable organizations. The argument could have been lot more convincing if it explicitly stated that teenagers are not taking part in any other charitable organizations.

Second, the argument states that there will be an increase in volunteers for local charities by making a mandatory program of 40 hours of community service before graduation. This is again a very weak and unconvincing assumption with no proper evidence. Because, students might go to other charitable services rather than going to the local charities to complete this mandatory program. For example if a school mandates donations to be made to any local charities in order to increase the funding. It does not neccessarily mean that people will donate to only local charities. They may donate to other non-local charitable organizations. So, it is not guaranteed that teenagers will go to the local charities to complete 40 hrs of community services. The argument could have been strengthened if it explicitly stated that students need to complete the community service in local charities.

For the above mentioned reasons the argument is flawed and unconvincing. The argument can be considerably strengthened if the author had stated all the necessary information. In order to assess as decision, it is necessary to have full information of all the contributing factors. As the information provided does not mention all the contributing factors it is flawed and open to debate.