Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leaders should be deft themselves while able to incorporate various ideas of others. While a competitive nature may enhance one's capabilities as a leader, it may corrupt the compunction that one possesses. In addition, getting along with others may be a better way to guide people instead of competing with them.

Admittedly, competition is a efficient way to develop abilities. Through competition, people are able to push themselves further and advance because of the nature of craving to win. For example, Michael Jordan admitted in his hall of fame acceptance speech that his competitiveness was the fuel for driving him to train harder, making him the best basketball player ever: without competition, he would have trained and played naively thus would have been unable to show his superhuman performance. Since leaders should possess competence that excel others, competitive nature should be promoted to help these people establish the aptness required for their professions.

Nevertheless, too much competition may result in a lack of morals in individuals. In the contemporary society, the competition has become fiercer than ever, and to survive in this milieu people sometimes has to compromise ethics, which would not be a virtue pursued by a leader. For instance, may government officials in Korea evade the military service - which takes two years to finish and return to the society - in order to have a head start in society. These leaders are often indicted for their lack of compunction and derelict in their obligations and are relegated from their vocations. Therefore, too much competence can hinder the morals of a individual, unqualifying them for a prominent position.

Last but not least, cooperation is a virtue that may lead to discovering social problems and a means to solving those predicaments. Nowadays, no single individual can govern the whole society. A group of people through conventions and communication come up with legislations or policies that are suitable for the current community. For instance, the president isn't the only person to decide a nation's policy: members of the congress are all involved in the decision process. Therefore, to communicate efficiently and thus come up with propitious politics, the president should not only be pertinent himself, but also able to work together with various people.

In conclusion, although some extent of competition may enhance a leaders capabilities, it may derogate one's moral standards in a attempt to achieve a better result. Moreover, the ability to communicate and work together may be a higher virtue required in modern leaders of the society.