A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A uniform curriculum through out the nation will help set a level playing field for all students and avoid discrepancies in the knowledge or skill levels between students in any particular field.

Whenever a student joins a college in the field of their interest, it often happens that there lies some disparity in their knowledge pertaining to a subject. We can cosider the case in India where the central board curriculum has more number of topics in Chemistry and Physics compared to few state boards. Such differences inhibit the professors of the college from preparing a curriculum which can cover a larger number of concepts. And to bridge the gap they tend to brush up the fundamental concepts in the first year courses. By providing a uniform curriculum these colleges can expect that every student that joins there campus has adequate knowledge and can either choose to add higher level concepts or reduce their toughness based on only one curriculum. At the same time these colleges can recommend the school board to improve it's curriculum to ensure that the curriculum set by colleges can enable the students to compete globally.

It is also common case in India where few state boards have differences in the way they present historical facts. This occurs mainly due to the preferences of state governments and their beliefs. When these students appear for nation wide exams they may choose answers which are incorrect with refernce answer and may end up losing further opportunities. By ensuring a common curriculum, we can ensure that the facts are not distorted on the whims of politicians. If some scientist or historian finds that these facts need to be corected, a nation wide collaboration and discussion would be mandated ensuring that no stone is left unturned in proving the correctness of the observations made. But this does not mean that the facts cannot be distroted at the board level, but just that it would be easier to replicate the changes all across a nation.

At the same time, not giving the local boards a choice may inhibit schools from teaching local languages or cultures which the uniform curriculum does not or cannot cover due to excess of information. At the same times some boards have curriculum which may focus on practical learning which is essential in current day scenario.

In conclusion there are many benefits to students because, they will all be at the same level as their peers.