Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Man has had several corollaries in the Earth we live in. These consequences includes deforestation, global warming and and so on. The degradation of the Earth due to man becomes worse daily and if there are no laws to slow down this degradation, it would continue indefinitely until Earth is uninhabitable for mankind. The prompt argues that countries should put laws and regulations that would protect any remaining forest. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons which I would elucidate below. However in some extreme cases, I do concede that wilderness should not be protected.

To begin, forests play a lot of roles for the Earth; destroying these forests could have severe consequences for human. For example, forests help to remove the amount of CO2 in the atmosphere. CO2 traps heat gotten from the sun. If there is an excess of this compound in the atmosphere, it would trap more heat and result in global warming. Studies have shown that trees take away most of the CO2 in the environment. In addition, deforestation could lead to loss of some plant species which may have been beneficial. Perhaps in a scenario where a particular crop only grows in one place and it contains the cure to a deadly disease like HIV, man may have destroyed the only chance it had at fully curing the disease. It is not a new case were scientists find a cure to a malady from a component of a particular plant. Hence is advisable to help protect the available forests because removing them could have dire consequences on humans.

Furthermore, deforestation could have serious consequence for wildlife. Forests help to preserve animals in their natural habitat. These animals may not be able to thrive if these forests are depleted. For example, In South Africa, the erecting of buildings has resulted in the death of some elephants who migrate every year for search of water. The erecting of buildings has made it tougher for these animals to migrate. Similarly, some animal species have gone into extinction because of human factors. The creation of zoos have been a huge help but some animals are being neglected in these zoos. For example, the lions in Obafemi Awolowo University are being underfed because of lack of money and this could have serious effects on the population of lions. If these animals were in the wilderness, they might have looked for ways to get food themselves. In order to protect wildlife, Nations should pass laws that protect wildlife.

Admittedly, in some extreme cases, wilderness should be cut own if it could bring economic success. The main goal of some countries is to make money. One could say that there might not be a point in preserving wilderness when there the country is in debts. For example, -Ogbunike caves Nigeria owned by Mr. Akubuike Festus -brings far less returns than the investment. Mr. Akubike Festus is in debts and further wasting of resources to sustain these caves might not be advisable. These areas surrounding these caves could be sold to companies which could bring money for him in order to remain solvent.

In conclusion, it is advisable for countries to pass laws protecting forests. Nevertheless, in some cases, I think the government should not put laws protecting them.