Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Life without nature seems to me like a painting without colours. It would be an uphill legal battle to fight for the scant amount of wilderness areas left but a battle that needs to be fought now for the sake of the environment. Precedents set with such laws by nations to protect such areas in their natural state would be a great win for the environment and its advocates for years to come.

However, I can concede that such an undertaking would be stall urbanization and human development to an extent but here are two reasons why I agree with the prompt.

First of all, if such laws are not passed or put in place, this would lead to a whole plethora of flora and fauna getting endangered and quite possible going extinct. An example of this would be the time when the population of tigers in the wild in India had gone down considerably due to their poaching, habitat loss and illegal hunting. Certain measures were put into place by the government to introduce and increase the population of tigers in the wild in the Indian subcontinent.

Secondly, wilderness areas are not completely all about the flora and fauna present there but also about the ecosystem that they represent, which can be evidently seen in the national reserves and parks and how our Forest Departments study and maintain such ecosystems for them to thrive and sustain without any human intervention in the long run. If such habitual encroaching and destruction of these areas are continued and there are no laws or legal backing for them, these whole ecosystems get uprooted and destroyed. An example would be, say, if we remove the natural predators of deers, like wolves, from the wilderness, the deer population would increase dramatically. This in turn would lead to further consumption of their main food, the grasslands. This in turn would lead to patches and or even areas of barren lands, which could turn swathes of areas to deserts in a few decades. The ramifications of such laws either being or not being in place play a huge role in how we will see our planet in the coming years.

However, I'll agree that increased urbanization due to an ever increasing population will always exist, but if this comes at the cost of certain species going extinct, then is too high a price to pay and legislation should be in place to make sure species that are endangered do not go the way of the Dodo or the Java Tiger.

In the end, laws & legislation should be passed and exist in place to protect species that already showing signs of despair from their dwindling numbers and that we should do what we can to protect their ecosystems from getting destroyed.