Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Throughout the world, wildlife preservation has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe that authorities of countries could not make use of wild areas for economic purposes, the issue as to whether legislators should issue laws to conserve those areas in their pristine form or not remains controversial. As far as I’m concerned, I agree that governments need to enforce laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas.

First, it is important to recognise that wild trees consume carbon dioxide and produce oxygen for human beings to breathe. However, the world witnessed many industrial revolutions, therefore harvesting rate increased dramatically which led to over-logging and deforestation. Consequently, the amount of carbon dioxide went up sharply, thus human health is negatively affected since breathing becomes more difficult. Suppose, for example, Beijing is one of the most air-polluted cities in China as this country has developed precipitately without considering to protect the environment. This example indicates that overutilization natural resources is detrimental for not only wildlife but also people’s daily life.

Second, it is equally important to recognise that the exhaustive use of wilderness areas could engender climate change. Many people may argue that this phenomenon is just theoretical and not researched clearly and humans do not need to be overdramatic. Nevertheless, they are ignorant of the fact that nature is undergoing many serious occurrences due to the invasion of human beings. For instance, deforestation leads to carbon dioxide emissions which is the cause of the greenhouse effect and global warming. Therefore, the awareness of protecting the natural world is crucial for both current generation and descendants.

Finally, passing laws to conserve remaining natural areas does not mean that it would damage economic gain. The governments could consider to implement laws that not only keeping the natural world safe but also gaining economic benefits. To illustrate, Tesla, a world leader company in electric vehicle innovation, has been planning to construct a factory in a forest area of Germany; the authority accepts this plan with a constraint that the company has to plant numerous trees to replace the demolished forest. Hence, the authority could have a cake and eat it too.

In conclusion, taking all the above mentioned reasons, it is plausible for nations to legalize laws to protect any left over wilderness areas and could also take advantage of those areas.