Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

The argument claims that the decrease in the number of deer is related to the current global warming trend. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily states that the deer population is dropping. This statement is a stretch since it does not provide any statistical evidence to prove the point. Suppose, for example, how many deer was there last year compared to the deer population in the current year or the decreasing trend in the number of deer during the last three years. Clearly, the statement is not quantified. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that how bad is the situation happening.

Second, the argument claims that global warming is the cause of melted sea ice so the deer could not travel over the ice to find food. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between global warming and migration patterns of this animal. Even if the sea ice is melting because of global warming, not all the sea ice is congruent; is all the ice melting too small that the deer could not travel over them? If the argument had provided evidence that indicating specifically how does global warming negatively affect the migration patterns of the deer then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the statement is still ambiguous in many aspects. Could the source of information be genuine and confirmed? What if the deer populations are declining due to illegal hunting? What if global warming harms the growth of the plants which are feed of the deer and leads to a food shortage, consequently many deer are starving? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the conclusion that global warming is the direct cause of the decrease in the number of deer in arctic regions.