Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

This is a debatable topic whether the nation should make efforts to preserve the environment or not. Every nation gives more importance to the economic development over protecting the environment as the economic progress makes the country more developed. This progress should not be made at the cost of natural surroundings. I believe that country all over the world should make efforts to preserve ecology even at the cost of economic gain of the nation.

First and foremost, the environment plays an important role in the life-cycle of human beings. The food we eat or the clothes we wear we get it from the environment thus it is our responsibility to protect the ecology. We have exploited the nature to such an extent that there are shifts in weather all over the world, the glaciers are melting, the global temperature is rising. All the mentioned problems are result of human activities. Thus, it is our duty to preserve the wilderness areas in order to maintain the ecological balance. Recently the Paris Accord made by the developed countries to control the carbon emission is one of the major step taken to protect the environment. This is draining the countries economically but if we don't spend money now it may result in natural calamities due to ecological imbalance.

Besides this, humans are exploiting the natural reserves for their profit thus, policies made by the government will help to preserve them. In the absence of laws these activities cannot be controlled. The preservation of the wilderness will help to prevent the plants and animals who are on the verge of extinction. Also, such measures may result in economic gain as it will increase the tourism. People like to see and explore unique flora and fauna. For example, Indian forests are home to many plants and animals which are not found in any other places of the world thus, by protecting them will attract the tourists and researchers.

In conclusion, I agree with the author because of the reasons discussed above. In my opinion, the nature needs to be protected though at the cost of economic gain.