“Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.”

The arts still play a vital role in society as it incorporates the culture, customs, and beauty of a nation. Government should be funding this program because it is an important aspect of society and its citizens. However, drastic measures need to be taken during extreme cases. Therefore, when a significant amount of people who are hungry and unemployed, suspending government funding for the arts should be allowed.

The most important part of a nation is its citizens because society would not be able to function without workers and consumers. The government’s responsibility is to therefore care for these people and ensure their abilities are not compromised so society is not comprised. One way the government helps is by science, technology, education, road construction, and more. This helps with the growth and development of the nation to ensure everything flows smoothly. However, of all these different areas, the arts is one of the few that does not provide immediate benefits. While science can help find cures to diseases, the arts provide aesthetic satisfaction for citizens. Although still an important field, the government must take fast action when extreme circumstances arise in order to curve the potential consequences. If a significant number of citizens are being affected, then cutting the funds of one program to care for these people is very reasonable.

Suspending funds for the arts gives the government some extra money that can be used to directly attack the problem at hand. The money can be used to build more homeless shelters which will combat the amount of citizens on the streets who are no longer able to sustain themselves or their families; food can also be given to these people for free without worrying about a deficit in funds. Ultimately, suspending the funds for the arts will allow the government to better take care of their citizens while society is still able to flourish due to advances in other fields that did not get cut.

There are many reasons why suspending the funds are beneficial, but it can also negatively impact the nation’s it unity cause it to lose its cultural values. There are many citizens who take pride in the arts and consider it their lives. For example, dancers, artists, pianists, singers, museum-owners, and more will all lose their jobs if funds are suspended. Therefore, the outcome would just increase the amount of people who are unemployed and hungry. However, if the funds were not cut, those who are already in despair will not get the proper help and treatment. Also, the additional people who may fall into this category afterwards, will also benefit from the money allocated by the government.

The arts is a great aspect of society and should be cherished for the customs, traditions, and cultural values it holds. However, it is the government’s responsibility to care for its citizens. When people are at-risk, action needs to be taken. Although unfortunate, funding for the arts should be cut since there are a significant amount of people who are unemployed and hungry.