“Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Human beings are emotional creatures. We experience myriad of emotions on a quotidian basis, and struggle to deal with them in a rational sense. Among-st these emotions the most prominent ones are sadness and happiness. The prompt suggests that we can feel the true happiness only when we have felt the real sadness. History has shown that humans tend to take things for granted, just like the saying in a famous adage, 'humans tend to value things only when they lose it'. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that humans will realize the value of happiness only when they have felt the void of it for three reasons.

To begin with, most things in the world are perceived as binary. For example, good exists because of evil, we appreciate beauty when we compare it with it's ugly counterpart. This shows that we tend to give importance to the value of a subject only when there is a negative counterpart to compare it with. For instance, in an ideal world where everybody is rich, and everyone is receiving an equal amount of money for any work that they do, and everybody has the same standard of living, then there would be no value to money at all. Extending this to the concept of emotions, if we do not experience sadness then we would not understand the true value of happiness.

Furthermore, the way emotions are perceived is relative. That is, it varies for each individual. For example, providing a box full of delicious cupcakes to a rich spoiled kid, would not make that kid as happy as providing the same box of cupcakes to a poor kid who has been starving for past two days. Only when there is a void of something, do we realize it's value. The same object can result in different level of satisfaction and happiness, based on the situation the person is in and the things the person has been through. Thus, when a person has known real sadness, he or she will be able to truly appreciate the feeling of happiness once they are able to solve their problems that's causing them melancholy.

In addition to the above examples, it is also observed that when humans lack a certain feeling or an object, they tend to strive towards the best to achieve that object or to eradicate the negative feeling. That is, if they have been feeling low for quite some time because of low grades, or unhealthy lifestyle, humans tend to improve on their grades or the lifestyle in order to feel better. The negative feelings gives them the strength to improve on themselves. This shows that sadness might be a factor humans will tend to work hard to achieve the happiness that they deserve and will be able to enjoy it in a much elated manner once its finally achieved.

In the right of above deliberation, the authors claim that only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness is justified. One might argue that happiness is independent of sadness, but the above examples show that only when you have felt the true pain or the sadness will you be able to truly appreciate the meaning of happiness, else any grand gestures will not entice the person to be happier.