In order for any work of art for example a film a novel a poem or a song to have merit it must be understandable to most people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reason

This statement claims that for any work of art, for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song, to have merit, it must be understandable to most people. I have different opinions here, there are some reasons I will analyze it in the following paragraphs.

First of all, some art forms gain most of the effects may have a better development. Some merit films can get a lot of investment, it will go into some film festivals and some festivals can help them develop and prove its price. It has advantages for film development.

Secondly, we need to define the word “understandable”. Usually, we cannot understand some abstract paintings, Picasso painted many abstract paintings, but it does not mean it is not any price, even if we should know it is priceless. Some people can understand it, some artists try to paint some abstract paintings to express their minds more. It is complex in a person’s psychology. Salvador Dali made many works to illustrate his mind. Last month I read a book named Red Book by a famous psychologist Carl Jung, it shows many mandala paintings, it is drawn by Jung, he wanted to paint it to solve his psychological problem. He successfully solved his problem when he finished this book. Although some paintings are not understandable, they are important for the artist. Some people can understand them and some people cannot understand their meaning. Once I sent an abstract painting from Mondriaan to my best friend, she said she could understand it and explained it to me. She tells me that she usually cannot understand realism works. We cannot deny artists to make abstracts and some people can understand them. This work of expressing the mind is still important.

Finally, I know a famous filmmaker Derek Jarman has a famous film named Blue. It's only a color, blue, full on the whole screen. Not all people can understand it, but we cannot deny it is a classic in film history. In fact, artists also have the right to express themselves of mine.

To sum up, they also have a right to understand their meaning. Different artists have different views, Andy Warhol is a popular artist, people can understand him, Mondriaan has different opinions. They both have their price.