In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Work of art can be anything from a great piece of novel, a beautiful picture created by a thoughtful painter, to a nice little song that touches our heart. But how do we define the work of heart? Going back to the earlier days of pristine nature, even the euphony of chirping birds or water gushing in a meandering river could have been looked into work of arts – those are the arts of nature. But nowadays we only consider creations of humans to be qualified as arts.

Work of arts must be understood by most people – this assertion definitely has some elements of truth. The implicit reason for such a claim lies in the fact that, those creations are targeted for people. Unless we, the people, understand those, what is the point of creating them in the first place? The creator’s satisfaction lies in the fact that people read or listen or view them again and again, with their eyes lined with appreciation. That is what motivates the artist for coming up with more such memorable pieces. Leonardo Da Vinci’s paintings, or Shakespeare’s novels are referred as such mesmerizing pieces of art that has flown down through generations, yet their reputations are as bright as they were centuries ago. Hence, it is reasonable to assume that an work of art can be given merit only if it is understandable by most people.

Now, there are two digressions from here. Firstly, there are lot of poems or painting doing round today, merits of which are only appreciated by professionals in the world of poets or painters. Unless someone is a great painter himself or herself, he or she does not really understand or appreciate the creation of these paintings. We will still consider these paintings or poems as work of arts as those have approvals form Pundits, though we the laymen seldom understand those.

Secondly, there are masters of masters. Though science is not different from arts, a germane example from science will bolster this argument here. Many theories of Albert Einstein are arcane - understood by only a handful of people in the entire world. Still those are admitted to be true, and their appropriate applications have made possible plethora of next generation technological improvement. Similarly there are bards and movie directors whose work has not been publicly appreciated until someone in same line of work, and with established image in public minds, has come up in praise of those work. It has been observed that, in general, these creations do not invoke much public interests, but they leave enduring and interesting learnings for others in the same world of art. That is why they are masters of masters, and public get indirect results of their creations.

So to summarize, the assertion is in general valid, with some small number of exceptions as stated above.