In order for any work of art for example a film a novel a poem or a song to have merit it must be understandable to most people

We all have certain things that we fascinate about and show our predilection, amongst which includes work of arts. This prompt makes a statement that for any work of art to hold merit, it must be understandable. While this seems to be true, I choose to disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

To start with, the merit or recognition that a work of art receives can be largely attributed to its target audience. The target audience is the group of individuals whom the art creator intends to capture. For instance little children would derive great pleasure listening to nursery rhymes such as “twinkle twinkle little star”. Such nursery rhyme which elicits great enthusiasm amongst little kids does not necessarily need to be understood by them, but rather other factors such as its rhythm and peer influence play a major role in the general acceptability of this nursery rhyme. Little kids can pick up these rhymes from school, and sing along while playing with friends, thereby making it gain merit amongst younger children. To further buttress this point, a song by an artiste my receive over a million streams on a streaming platform like “YouTube” from internet users not because they understand the song, or because it has a meaningful content, but for the fact that its intent is to capture a younger generation who are more energetic and love compositions that are loud, electrifying and having a danceable beat. Also in a society where rock music is loved, a hip-hop song may not strive or gain merit because it does not contain essential elements of rock music despite the fact that it is understandable, it still does not get the required merit.

Furthermore the popularity of the art creator, and the publicity given to the work of art, also plays major roles in determining the merit it receives. As an example, a rap song may be widely accepted due to the popular status of the artiste made possible by the large number of aficionado’s the artiste has being able to build over time. This strong affinity from the large number of fans does not necessarily come because they understand the music. It can result from their love for the artiste personality, style of music, the energy the music brings, or the high publicity which the song has gained due to frequent play time on popular radio stations and by disc jockeys at parties. This affinity from fans can transcend to non-lovers of the artiste, there by increasing the audience and recognition the song gets.

While my point of view may be argued by stating that it is difficult for an art work such as a song made by a French artiste to receive merit in a non French speaking country, well what fascinates a person in a piece of art might just be prosaic to another. Thus in as much as understanding an art piece may help increase its merit, it does not mean it is compulsory as the prompt claims. Other factors such as the personality of the art creator, the target audience, popularity, publicity and peer influence also play a much major role in determining the merit a work of art receives.