In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agre

School students have poetry and classics as a part of their curriculum. It is generally in the teenage years where one explores the world of novels and such imaginative literature. Various colleges also provide electives or options to students for taking up courses in mythologies and others that encourage imagination. However, it should not be made compulsory for all students in college to take up some courses in literature.

Firstly, there is not enough time available for students in college to pursue courses peripheral to their field of specialization. Devoting time to imaginative literature means taking out time from core subjects. Students pursuing a medical career are always running out of time. It is common for them to resort to drugs to help them fight sleep and find more time to memorize symptoms, medicines and anatomy. Students in biology are always found in the lab scrutinizing growth stages in cultures of bacteria over days. Law students are always found studying the law tomes in the library. Even though, the lecture hours in a week may be few, but the labs and assignments are time consuming. Pushing in one more subject to study is going to burden the students and hence will not be well received.

Also, people do not see direct impact of taking up such courses. Students are willing to take courses that help them prepare a refined and specific resume to impress their employer. Students are willing to take up esoteric topics in their own fields rather than take up something in a different field. The main purpose of graduating, it seems today, has been limited to achieving a high paying job, and increasing competition is supporting this attitude. Today colleges are judged by the criteria of average pay their students receive on campus placements. This encourages colleges to prepare students for the careers rather than for a life. The ultimate quest for the students is to be able to get a job at their dream companies. Hence, students nor colleges are inclined to the proposal of making imaginative literature mandatory.

However, in some of the private colleges that are already well reputed and need not worry about placements, can give this proposal a try. It would be beneficial as imagination is heart of all innovation. By laxing the exam and avoiding or reducing assignments for this course, students can, in fact, unwind by listening to interesting lectures on mythologies or poems or novels. Though, it may be hard to see short term benefits, in the long run this scheme could pay off by giving their students a edge over the others. Nonetheless, such scheme will require the support from both the student and the college faculty, as forced curriculum will not be fruitful.

Thus, majority of the colleges where the focus of study is the core subject, courses on imaginative literature will take up time without providing instant positive results. There may be limited number of institutes where students and college are willing to take up this opportunity.