Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage concludes that the population of Arctic deers in Canada is on the decline because of global warming. However, there are are many assumptions that the author has used to arrive at this conclusion. If these assumptions are not valid, the argument holds but little truth.

It is assumed that the sole reason of decline of deer population is global warming because of which, the sea does not freeze during winter, and hence the deers cannot migrate from island to island in search of food. There is no mention of hunting carried out in the region, even though the reports are collected from local hunters. It is very much likely that the hunters could be killing the deers at a faster pace than they can reproduce and sustain their numbers. The mere fact that the increase in global warming corresponds to the decrease in number of deers does not suffice the argument. The author does not specifically mention the fact that sea in the Canada’s Arctic region does not freeze. It could be that the sea does freeze in this area, but not for the duration of entire winter.

Another assumption is that the deers die of starvation due to lack of food. This is called into question, as warmer climates means more plants and more food for the deers stranded on an island. Deers do not migrate during the summers in the Arctic, as the sea is not frozen. This means that during summers an island can produce enough food for the deers. A similar phenomenon can can occur due to global warming when plants grow in sufficient quantities to prevent death of deers by starvation.

Also, there is no rigorous and reliable report on the number of surviving deers. Local hunters are not a reliable source of information. It could be that the deers are aware of the approaching hunters, and hide at places where hunters cannot approach them. Statistical data on the number of deers can be helpful for objective analysis. Moreover, the report can mention the number of deers found dead due to starvation. Decrease in number of plants or reduction in their growth during winters, can help strengthen the claim. If not many deers are found dead, but only a few can be spotted, could lead us to investigate a new migration pattern of these deers to new islands that have colder climates.

Thus, the argument is based on unreliable reports and various assumptions. Work towards validating these assumptions can establish the veracity of the claim.