Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

In this argument, the arthor claims that the populations of Arctic deer live on lslands decline because of the recent global warming. The argument seems to be some validity at the first glance, but we immediately found out several logical mistakes. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments:

The author claims that the recent report from local hunters revealed that the deer populations are declined. However, we need more evidence about this issue. Since we do not know how many samples they used, and how did they do the test, it is not true that the contents of report from the local hunters are thr truth. What if the hunters just be halfhearted to collect the sample? They did not have the precise instruments to record the numbers of the deer. For example, if the climate report from the college students says that there is going to have a typhoon tomorrow, people probably would not believe them. They need to provide more precise data and the ways that they use to record.

Even if the report is true that the populations of the deers are declined. That is not to say that we need to worry about this decline. What if the populations of the deer just decreased from one hundred to ninety-nine? It is not a big number which can be enough to affect the whole populations. Thus, we need more evidence about the contents of the report.

The author also says that the populations of the deer declined because of the global warming trends that they have caused the sea ice to melt and the deer cannot across the island. However, we still need more evidence about this issue. What if the population decline is because of others reasons? For instance, if the populations of the predators of the deer increase, the deer will be ate more than before. It is highly possible reason to explicate this issue. Therefore, we still need more evidence about this argument.

To sum up, the author would have to provide more evidence to make valid assumptions he provided. Without such evidence, we cannot jump to the conclusion that the populations of deer decreased because of global warming. All in all, if the author provides more precise evidence and mends the logical mistakes. Then, the argument will be more persuasive.