Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that the reason for the decrease in artic deer population is the limited ability for the deers to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. The author came to this conclusion based on the recent global warming trend which caused the sea ice to melt. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, how cold is the habitat of the deers other times of the year? In other words,Is it cold all year round in the habitation of the deers to keep the ice frozen all the time? It is possible that the surroundings is not always frozen year round, maybe when it gets warm, it melts the ice, thereby defrozing the ice which the deers walk on to cross over from island to island. if this scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is there any evidence to prove the validity of the hunters? is it possible that the hunters miscounted the arctic deers? Maybe the hunters normally counted the deers at a particular area and time at their habitat, where they thought the deers usually gathered, and this time they went taking account of the animals, instead of checking properly, perhaps some animals wandered farther away. They rather took inventory of the animals that they saw, hence resulting in the conclusion in the decline of the deers. If the above stated is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the author concludes that the reason for the decline in the number of arctic animals is due to the deers being unable to follow the age-old migration pattern in search of food, which is conflicting, because if the passage blames global warming which is an increase in temperature thereby causing the ice to melt, there probably will not be any need for the animals to follow the age-old migration patterns across the sea as there maybe sufficient plant feed for the inhabitants.

As the case may be, there might be other reasons for the reduction in the number of animals. If the above stated is true, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above, by and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to completely evaluate the arguments.