In order to understands the most important cultures of a society, one must study its major cities.

Culture is the group of people characterised by every aspects in their lives including lifestyles, language, clothes, etc. Different people across the world have different cultures. The above issue statement states that, in order to understands the most important cultures of a society, one must study its major cities. In my opinion to say that only the cities are the ones which hold the major characteristics of a society would be ignorant towards rural cultures. I believe that even though urban culture makes up for a considerable part of the society's culture it does not reprsent it fully. Thus I disagree with the statement.

In my opinion bucolic culture is equally if not more important than urban cultures. Rural culture still holds the historic aspects and traditional practices that may have been washed over by urbanisation. The most secluded and remote tribes in the world have maintained their way of living for over hundreds of years. Consider the art of weaving fabric from the stems of the lotus plant. A distant tribal family in China has been practising it for over generation. They remain to be possibly the only family in the entire world to be able to perform the art. The rest of the artisans have been lost during the era of urbanisation. This shows us that remote and rural cultures depict the most unique and traditional aspects of the society.

Cultures in majority of the cities across the globe have been influenced by the western countries. During the era of colonisation, there was a massive culture shift in the colonies. People were often forcibly made to accept western cultures, traditions and religions. This led to many of the contemporary cities losing their identities. This trend is still continued. Especially in a country like India, where there was tremendous diversity in cultures and traditions, a lot of them were massacred. For example the traditional Hindu attire of 'Kurta and Lehenga' for men and 'Sari' for women have been all but reserved to only religious occassions. Only in the southern parts of India where there is still a dominance of traditional attire, we can see that it is present only in the villages and rural areas. In my view, this type of culture is the true representation of the country's culture.

Thus we can clearly see that in order to study the culture of a society, one cannot be restricted to its major cities. Equal if not more importance should be given to the villages which hold the intrinsic value of the society's culture.