Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new way

Something is said to be original if it has not been done or conceived by anyone before. Originality and creativity are synonymous to each other in that creating or bringing into existence what has not been, be it ideas or inventions entails originality. The prompt suggests that originality is when old ideas are put together and does not mean thinking something that was never thought before. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the suggestion and argue that originality can be thinking something new and putting old ideas in a new way with these three reasons.

Human beings are unique and think in different ways. When posed with a situation, a challenge or problem, man think in diverse ways and have different approaches to solving issues. These different approaches are unique to each person and it's an original thought of that person. For instance, in the account of the invention of light bulbs, Thomas Edison came up with the idea of creating incandescent lightbulbs that are practical and inexpensive making it more available and widely affordable. Edison parents his invention in 1879 and is known today as the inventor of light bulbs. If his ideas, though virgin, were not original, he would not have filed for a patent. Since, patents and copyrights are given to the first inventor and producer of any technological breakthrough or piece of art respectively. These rights are issued because it is an original work of someone. And these inventions and technological breakthroughs were first conceived as ideas and transformed in a tangible form.

Also, when an old idea is transformed, the result of the transformation process is the birth of a new idea which becomes an original idea different in some aspects from the idea that gave rise to it. There is a saying that there is nothing done now which has not been done before but the difference in the pattern of doing it makes it different. Some of the inventions we see today stem from an old idea that was modified. For instance, before Mark Zukerberg came up with the idea of Facebook, other ideas have been which different people tried to create a platform where people can communicate faster without having to go through the pain of waiting for eternity before receiving a message. Yahoo messenger is one of those ideas, but Mark added features that are unique to Facebook making it different from Yahoo messenger. In other words, Mark built on the idea behind the creation of Yahoo messenger and came up with something different, new and better. This shows that if someone comes up in the future with an idea built on the concept of Facebook but new and different, it will be termed an original one.

Lastly, change is irrevocable. These changes often affect thought patterns and as changes occur, our ideas keep evolving and the new ideas takes the originality position of the old ideas. For instance, a company that existed before this era of digital transformation must have had an old idea concerning it's mode of operations and the way of serving her customers. The advent of digitization would cause this company to restrategize. In most cases, they call together the board of directors and if the formal strategy is well documented, it will be presented to them and after some deliberations based on what has being, new strategies are formed. This is to show that new ideas are in some cases, formed from old ones and it does not make them less original.

In conclusion, there are no easy answers for the above issue, making it a complex one. For the above reasons, I argue that originality can mean ideas that have not been thought of before and can also mean old ideas that are transformed to form new ones because at the end of it all, they are all new and unique.