People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it
Power by definition is the ability to vehemently influence a change
either by force or free-will. Some would argue that people mostly
respect the powerful when they exercise their power on their lower
subjects. But others would state that respect for a powerful person
comes when they refrain from exercising it. After carefully weighing the
evidence it is clear that exercising power by powerful makes people to
accord them the most respect. leaders and rulers that limit their power
have been known to be challenged more in ruling thier empire.
Those that would argue that taking it softly in exercising power find it
bouncing back in a more severely manner stating that power is more to
impose.During the era of apartheid in South-Africa, Nelson mandela
initially sort for a more dynamic and more peaceful conversation with
the white rulers. Even at this, he lead only peace protest to claim it
power. Though he was respected but his fight never materialized in time
as he was eventually jailed for misconducts.similarly, phylantropists
like Rockefeller, and bill gates are well known for humanly kind gesture
to helping people. people give respect to them forgeting that it still
remains within power to show love to others. However, lower subjects
failed to realize that exercising power lead these philantropists to
giving back before they decide on refraining from such actions.
Now consider the exceptional. Aldof hitler is one of the most feared
ruler in history, with his role during world war two. nations and other
world leaders feared the cruelty of his actions against human kind from
the massive killings of jews to attacking countries. These actions alone
were enough for people to develop so much respect for his reign and also
for the nazis rule of great Germany. No one ever against the nazis rule
and men and women were trained to be combact against their free-will.
Like hitler, Kin jong hun killed his uncle and other top officials in
the North Korea's Military for involving in a failed coup. This created
fear not only amidst the nationals of the country but other people
around the world. This accorded Kim so much respect, even it was bore
out of fear of prosecution. Similarly, the mighty military nuclear
weapons displayed during the country's national independence brought so
much contention and panick from countries around the world. This ruler
is of the opinion that showing the world his arsenal was enough to
accord him respect which eventually materialized.
In conclusion, it's clear that power mostly preceeds respect. from the
illustrations of the influence of Adolf hitler to Kim Jong hun provided
critical insights to the ripple effect of making stands and decision in
the quickest and most severe manner.If anything, refraining from
exercisng power deviates from the true essence of being a leader and
interpreted as weakness in the part of the ruler.