As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is advancing faster than humanity can adapt to it. It seems like everyday there is a new advancement or a new iPhone is released. Few people today live without a computer. Internet access is seen by many as a basic need. There is no doubt that technology is prevalent. With the near constant flow of technology, one feels compelled to ask whether this is good for mankind and what affect it has on the public. Although the influx of new technology can be overwhelming, it does not impact mankind’s ability to think for themselves.

One prevalent aspect of technology is the Internet, which has given everyone a voice. All someone has to do is turn on their computer and create a name to have their voice heard by others all over the world. The Internet is a free market of ideas where everyone’s voice is equal. Conflicting views clash in battles of blog posts, videos, etc. To use the Internet is to encounter opinions that oppose your own. Everything is open to debate and scrutiny. The users have to think for themselves in order to defend their ideas against others.

Technology is created to make people’s lives easier. It is created to be depended on and thus people depend on it. There is an app for everything from getting a ride home to shopping. If someone is having an argument, they can simply look it up online. This does not change us; it simply makes our lives easier. Time and effort are not wasted on changing a tire if something goes wrong on the side of the road. Memory is not wasted on trivia for arguments with friends. The space in their brain is still there, but it is used for something more important.

Technology can be a scary thing, especially if one does not understand it. As time goes on it grows more complicated and is seemingly used by everyone. Thus, people became afraid and assume it has a negative effect on those who use it. The person then feels superior for not using it out of fear of a fictional malady. Technology is simply a tool. Some use it more wisely than others. It can be dangerous in the wrong hands. Someone can fall victim to a scam or have their identity stolen. Yet, when a carpenter hammers his thumb instead of a nail, is the hammer to blame? Many technological tools are easy to use and one can avoid being harmed by it if used correctly. It is the fault of the user if one is harmed by it.

Whether it is television, cell phones, or medical science, one thing is for certain: technology is inescapable. This leads some people to question what effect this has on the users. Some say is negatively impacts one’s ability to think for one’s self. This is a misguided belief. The Internet, for example, is a place where one can argue their ideas and strengthen their beliefs by doing so. They blame technology because they do not under stand it. Therefore, technology does not diminish someone’s ability to think for themselves.