As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is becoming increasingly technologically driven with the widespread use of personal devices, voice recognition software, and artificial intelligence. Revolutionary innovations are transforming the way we interact with one another, and even ourselves.

While the “digital age” has made many aspects of daily life more efficient, some fear that an increasing dependence on sophisticated technologies to solve problems will be detrimental to human’s cognitive abilities. Although these fears seem reasonable, reliance on technology will not inhibit our intellectual progress. It is evident that not only will humans require substantial intellectual capabilities to operate and understand technological systems, but further invention will require problem solving ingenuity.

Operating complex, sophisticated technologies requires immense cognitive talent. As our devices and systems become more and more complex, the human ability needed to use and monitor these machines will only increase. Not only do the most technologically sophisticated jobs require extensive education and specialized training, but also the abilities needed to understand and augment complex technological processes abounds. Computer scientists, for example, devote many working hours solving complex problems, such as fixing bugs in their code, just as data scientists continue to monitor their predictive algorithms for several months after initial development to ensure that their projects are on course. As the capabilities of digital resources increases boundlessly, the necessary talent to ensure effectiveness of these resources is growing commensurately.

Additionally, further invention spurred by contemporary ideas will necessitate problem solving ingenuity. Technology drives innovation in that it facilitates the exchange of ideas. Progress and innovation become possible when ideas are accessible, or, as the famous saying states, when one is “standing on the shoulders of giants.” The simplest technologies have seeded decades long advances in fields such as computer science. The original mac computer for example, instigated generations of innovators competing for sleeker, more sophisticated personal devices. As we increasingly rely on the ability to exchange information swiftly and effortlessly, seemingly impossible innovations, like the iPhone, are coming to fruition. The ability to readily access information facilitates innovation, and necessitates the ability to think critically and creatively solve problems.

While some might argue that easily accessed information and self-relying technology has made humankind lackadaisical, history tells us that technological capabilities will not be detrimental to our capabilities. The sophistication of calculators has not left us with worse math skills, nor decreased demand for mathematicians. Not only have the technical curriculums taught in schools expanded, but also the necessity for highly developed problem-solvers has exploded with changes in innovation. It is clear that while advances are making the most unfavorable tasks of daily life more efficient, advanced intellectual skills are more imperative than ever.