As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Well, I think the idea of “relying on technology to solve problems reducing human's ability to think “is obscure in itself. Making a weapon in the pre-historic era can be considered one of the first technologies that humans developed but did it deteriorate our ability to hunt, NO rather it helped us, Hunt, even better. So technology in itself is just an aid that we use to complement our knowledge. It takes care of the trivial parts so that we can invest our brains into something much more complex.

In a field like Research, a researcher collects a lot of data during his research and it is almost impossible for a human being to find cohesive patters in the data and try to come to a conclusion. Here, the data analysis tools developed by humans and implemented on computers ( The Technology ) provides us an edge over anyone who would have had to do the same task say 100 years ago.

Why is that the technological development that we enjoy today has been mostly the work of the past 40-50 years, It is because technology builds on itself and provides humans with abstraction to a very high level. It's an exponential growth that we see in the technological development of human beings.

Now even if your research is in Biology and you want to interpret some gene data that is really huge you can use the data analysis tools and get it done. It is because of the abstraction i.e there is no need to know much of the inner workings of blocks rather we can just connect them and get the work done.

Yes, Like everything in this world technology comes with its disadvantages too like the excessive use of technology to completely shadow your own knowledge, for example, many software developers just copy parts of codes from different places and get the work done. This does not show their ability to write code but rather their ability to copy codes efficiently pun intended.

To conclude, everything has its goods and bads but its when the goods outweigh the bad the thing becomes revolutionary and Technology is one of them. Technology is what has bought us to a level where even the youngest of kids can now make an application that can be used by anyone needy in the world and that’s because of technology complementing our brains. With just the idea in our head that can be brought into the real world with just a little knowledge of the software side of it.Because it's the Ideas that matter.