As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to  think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the  statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your  position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and  explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology, a boon or bane, is highly debated. With more advancement of technology, we might get more ways to explore the world. We might be able to do a difficult job with ease, if proper technology is used.

In early days, or fifty years back, people used to do mathematical calculations themselves. Even complex calculations like finding square root was done mentally. For this reason, people doing maths used to have sharp minds with greater aptitude for logic and reasoning. However, people nowadays use calculators or their computers to do calculations involving simple addition. To maintain a proper physical health, one needs to exercise. Similar one needs exercise their brain to keep it healthy. Otherwise, the brain starts to become more and more dull.

People are busy with their jobs and responsibilities. With evolving technology, they are engaging themselves in as many activities they find interesting . For this reason, Individuals seldom gets time to spend time for their own. For instance, college students all over the world are very much dependent on Internet. If it goes off for some reason. They start to panic. With so many website, they have Facebook to socialize, Youtube to watch videos or Twitter to raise their voice. With the overwhelming set of websites and gadgets, they forget to hit the gym. They do not bother to cook a healthy meal because that might eat up time from their favorite web show on youtube.

On the other hand, people who are cautious about their health end up doing better. Because they utilize the options that comes with technology to get better. They use Internet as a free knowledge source. Also, some of them may watch yoga videos and practice meditation. So, these things improves their ability to think for themselves.

In conclusion, though many people might get distracted by the overwhelming options that comes with modern technology, some may use technology to improve themselves. Nevertheless, the deterioration of one's ability to think for themselves might depend on the use or misuse of technology.